FAQ: OpenTelemetry & Distributed tracing

Hi everybody,

I’m a senior product manager at Tyk working on observability. We have been getting many questions from our users about distributed tracing, the sunset of OpenTracing and our upcoming support for OpenTelemetry.

I have summarised all the answers to those questions below.
Is anything missing? Don’t hesitate to ask.

If you are new to observability and/or OpenTelemetry, you should probably read those two articles first: Observability Primer | OpenTelemetry and What is OpenTelemetry? | OpenTelemetry.

Q: Is OpenTelemetry support coming to Tyk?

Yes, distributed tracing support with OpenTelemetry is on the near-term roadmap for Tyk API Gateway. If this is a valuable feature for you, please leave a comment below saying as much.

Here are a couple of things we’d love to learn from you:

• Why would you like to get distributed tracing from Tyk API Gateway? How will this make your life easier?
  • Which observability platform/tool are you using (Datadog, Dynatrace, New Relic, Elastic, HoneyComb, Splunk, Lightstep, Jaeger, Grafana Tempo, …)?
  • Do you have any specific requirements (e.g. format being used for trace-context propagation, granularity of the spans we will export, sampling, baggage, …)

Q: Will OpenTelemetry help me to monitor and troubleshoot GraphQL and UDG queries?

Yes! let us know you what you struggle with at the moment (e.g. federation) and we will look into your use cases.

Q: Now that OpenTracing is being sunsetted, can I still use OpenTracing with Tyk?

Yes! here’s what you should know:

Tyk API Gateway implements the OpenTracing specification using the OpenTracing Go library and exports the trace data using either the client libraries from Jaeger or from ZipKin. This can be configured in the Gateway (see Jaeger or Zipkin for details on the configuration option).