Where to store API Definitions

Hi Folks,

I’m just getting started with your gateway, and I am trying to make the fundamental decision of where to store the api definitions (DB or file).

I imagine your immediate questions will be: Pro or CE (CE for now), and Do you want to use the Dashboard (yes, but I want to ship the logs to a central location and use Dashboard there. Sort of like a Multi Data Center).

However, I would kind of like to use the dashboard in the testing/development. So I am at a loss as to how I should proceed.

Furthermore, I have my API’s in swagger files, and I need to automate the construction of a gateway container to load up all of the API swagger definitions during the startup process. I have found that the importing of the swagger data via the Dashboard API to be, well, impossible - as your spec appears to want the swagger data as part of a larger object (and both YAML and JSON are cumbersome). The Gateway API spec appears to take a file, and I can create/generate API definition files for the container, but then I loose the Dashboard (which I am OK with at this time).

So, aside from asking why you have two different storage options (I get the licensing concerns), what would be the approach that you would recommend I take at this time?

Thanks.

Answering some of my own questions here - I seems that we will need to use the DB to store the definitions. Long term, this makes sense for our purposes. I am still concerned about how the swagger definitions are imported, as it seems they need to be JSON and be escaped, as indicated here: https://tyk.io/docs/configure/import-apis/#import-dashboard

This means that I need to read my swagger files on a per API basis, then import them into the dashboard one by one. Does this sound right?

I am aware of the import/export operations, but I am earlier in the process to make use of that.

Thanks.