How to: Connect Tyk API Gateway to REST APIs

Hi - I’m new to Tyk and API Gateway and I’m trying to learn how to connect Tyk gateway to a REST API with the security required, an authentication with Auth0 and then transforming it to a JSON web token to send to the API. In effect, implementing this article: Using Tyk.io and Jwt.io on Stateless Microservice Authentication | by Zeldal | kloia

My REST APIs are NodeJS-based application implemented with a simple JSON web token security on Heroku.

Anybody could point me to a good article(s)/documentation(s) explaining how to do it? Sad to say, after a few hours to search, besides a few configurations that keeps refusing my connections, I’m still no where and don’t even know where to continue next!

Thanks in advance!

As a note:
Using Tyk Cloud
Using Auth0 cloud.
Trying to connect to Heroku NodeJS REST API applications.

Hi Martin,

We’re looking into this for you. :+1:

In the meantime, have you followed any of our guides here: Tyk API Gateway Documentation?
Do you have any errors during your setup process, and can you share your API definition please.

Nick @ Tyk

Hi Martin,

to add to Nick’s reply you may also find useful this blog post.

Thanks,
Kos @ Tyk Support Team

First, thanks a lot for the quick responses!! “Rookie questions” usually get no answers on other forum so thanks and congrats on that! :slight_smile:

Regarding the API definition, since this is a really simple personal project used to learn API Gateway, I don’t have a full documentation for it (maybe that will be my next learning step). However, I’m copying my list of API calls from Postman (as an image) so you can see the structure (I believe it should be fairly easy for you to deduce the rest - let me know if not). To sum up:

• URI-CLTACCT is the first API micro-service, managing users and accounts.
  • URI-TXN is the second API micro-service, managing only transactions.

Note: they both use JSON web token with different secrets.