Comparison between Tyk and Kong

Hello Gurus,

I am new to the field of API gateways, but am asked to draw a comparison between Tyk and Kong, in terms of features, ease of use, community, roadmap and pricing.
I have been able to find some info on Tyk’s website (and Kong`s :slight_smile: ), but would like to have the views of more experienced people on that topic, especially the technical bit.
I hope that this question is a good fit in this forum.

Cheers,
V.

PS: Out of honesty, I have to say I’ve posted the same question on Kong’s forum, hoping to get both sides of the story :-).

Hello!

There are a lot of differences, the main are:

• Support - According to Forrester, Tyk have the best support of all the API management platforms. Our average response time is less than an hour, and our roadmap is always build based on customer needs.
  • Custom plugins in Kong - only support Lua. Tyk supports Lua, Python natively, has a Javascript Virtual Machine built in. Can create plugins with any language which supports gRPC
  • Kong Built on top of open resty which is built on top of Nginx. if there is a bug with openresty / nginx, Kong cannot help. Tyk however - entire stack owned and developed by Tyk. Meaning faster resolution of bugs.
  • To be objective, the performance of both products is likely to be very similar. When it comes to API Gateways, usually their performance is not an issue. For example, the single Tyk instance with auth and plugins turned on can give 2k requests per second, which is usually enough for any use case.
  • Fixed license cost per year. No limits or price considerations for the traffic, no. users, no. APIs, no. admins, no. gateways, no. DCs
  • Kong dashboard and portal available only for Enterprise customers, while Tyk one available even with free license. And in addition, based on all customer feedback, Tyk dashboard is the best from what you can find across other API gateways.