Building tyk from source and learning its components

I am able to run the tyk gateway on ubuntu, i invoke the tyk gateway as a service i ubuntu.

The gateway is installed at /opt/tyk-gateway , i’ve noticed that most files and folders are missing from in this location. i.e. the server.go file

I’ve downloaded the full source code from the tyk github repo, I was wondering how i can build the gateway entirely from source and be able to experiment with the code base in a process of learning how the components are wired, my goal is to understand the code and the philosophy so i can extend the gateway and/or start contributing.

Is there a somewhere in the docs where i can refer to that shows how to build a dev environment for the gateway ? Thanks

Hi salimsaid,

I’m not a golang developer myself (still learning) but following the basic approaches to building a go application I can successfully build tyk and start it. I basically had a read of this How to Write Go Code - The Go Programming Language and used go to fetch dependencies and build it as per the below.

#:~/go/src$ go env | grep GOPATH
GOPATH="/home/chris/go"
#:~$ cd /home/chris/go
#:~/go$ cd src/
#:~/go/src$ git clone https://github.com/TykTechnologies/tyk        
Cloning into 'tyk'...
remote: Enumerating objects: 25, done.
remote: Counting objects: 100% (25/25), done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (13/13), done.
remote: Total 29959 (delta 17), reused 13 (delta 12), pack-reused 29934
Receiving objects: 100% (29959/29959), 155.07 MiB | 5.05 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (18646/18646), done.
#:~/go/src$ cd tyk/
#:~/go/src/tyk$ go get -v
go get: warning: modules disabled by GO111MODULE=auto in GOPATH/src;
        ignoring go.mod;
        see 'go help modules'
github.com/TykTechnologies/tyk (download)
#:~/go/src/tyk$ go build -v
#:~/go/src/tyk$ ls -l tyk
-rwxrwxr-x 1 chris chris 42229600 Apr  1 11:58 tyk
#:~/go/src/tyk$ ./tyk 
[Apr 01 11:58:33]  INFO main: Tyk API Gateway v2.9.3